The Baldwin Company - Repossession Questions & Answers:
For all laws referred to in the Question and Answer section, please refer the California Vehicle & Civil Code, Business and Professions Code, Vehicle Code, Penal Code, Civil Code, California and the United States Constitution for further clarification. All laws contained within are subject to change. For further clarification The Baldwin Company recommends you consult with the above sources and/or legal counsel.
The maximum amount that can be charged to you, the legal owner, from a repair garage/body shop, airport parking garage, etc…:
For Vehicle Repairs: The maximum of repairs are limited to $1,500 (unless you as the legal owner have authorized the repairs) (Civil Code 3068)
For vehicle storage: A maximum of $1,025 if no lien sale was filed. A maximum of $1,250 if a lien sale was filed.
For the above to collect $1,250 in storage charges from you, the legal owner, they are required to notify you by the 16th day of possession.
If you, the legal owner, were not notified, the storage charges are limited to $1,025 (VC 10652.5 and Civil Code 3071 and 3072)
The above does not apply to vehicles stored or impounded by a police agency.
Your Premier Investigative and Auto Recovery Experts
Call Us Toll-Free: 855.635.REPO (7376)